Who Should be Nominated for a WAVE Award?


The goal of the WAVE Awards is to acknowledge remarkable individuals, who identify as women, working in film, television, or screen-based media for their:


  • Contributions

  • Accomplishments

  • Emerging Talent

  • Vision & Leadership

  • Dedication

  • Outstanding behind-the-scenes support

 There are no specific categories for the WAVE Awards and we welcome you to nominate any woman you believe to be remarkable and deserving of recognition.  


The WAVE Awards will be presented on Saturday, March 7, 2020 at the Women Making Waves Conference.

Nomination Steps


The WAVE Awards are open to any woman working in film, television, or screen-based media in any Atlantic province.
While the awards are intended to recognize the accomplishments of women, men and women are encouraged to submit nominations. We do not limit the number of submissions by any one person. 
To submit a nomination, please include:
1. A nomination pitch write-up (800 words maximum). This document should convincingly detail why your nominee(s) should be recognized by WIFT-AT. You may want to consider mentioning any volunteer work, awards, achievements, and accomplishments you feel the person should be recognized for. 
2. A résumé and/or filmography of the nominee(s).
3. Contact information for both yourself and the nominee(s).
4. One letter of recommendation is required, an additional letter of support is optional, but please submit no more than two letters of support per nomination.
All WAVE Award recipients will be honoured during the Women Making Waves Conference (WMW) in March.
WMW offers networking events, screenings, panels, and workshops tailored to established industry experts as well as emerging creative talent and interested students.

All nominations are kept confidential. Only the award recipients will be announced at the 2020 Women Making Waves Conference. If you have previously submitted a nomination that was not selected, please consider resubmitting. There is a new selection committee each year. 


All nominations must be emailed to by Monday, January 27, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. AST.


Questions about the nomination process? 

Karlea Lewis, Communications and Social Media Coordinator


Click here to download and print the nomination guidelines.


2019 Wave Award recipients, Teresa Macinnes, Juanita Peters and Ruth Lawerence join Wave Award presenter and Spotlight conversation guest, Tamara Podemski.                    Photo by Claire Fraser.

Previous Award Recipients

The 2018 Wave Award recipients from left, Janet Hawkwood, Rachel Bower and Terry Greenlaw. Photo by Claire Fraser. 

2016 WAVE Award Recipients Lara Cassidy and Annette Clarke with Jan Miller.

2017 WAVE Award Recipients: Ann Bernier, Christine McLean, Donna Davies with The Honourable Dr. Wanda Thomas Bernard. 

Photo by Michelle Doucette.

2016 WAVE Award Recipient Dominique Gusset with Sarah MacLeod. 

Words from Previous WAVE Recipients:


"Receiving the WAVE Award was both a humbling and an exhilarating experience. One works at making a contribution to the film industry out of passion and love, and so winning an award for doing something one chooses is especially satisfying. And in this arts-thriving region receiving the WAVE joins me to the impressive list of amazing women who have come before me. I am so grateful and proud to have received it, and hope a whole new generation of women continue to make waves in our special part of the country."

- Noreen Golfman, 2014 WAVE Award Recipient

"To be honoured by Women in Film and Television was an absolute delight for me  because women understand just how difficult it is to survive in the world of film making. The landscape is shifting around us at an extraordinary rate and we have to find more ingenious ways to get our work onto the screen. We are still sadly under-represented in the film and television industry and our efforts to correct that imbalance are crucial to our own survival and that of future generations of women film makers."

- Barbara Doran, 2014 WAVE Award Recipient

"The WIFT-AT WAVE Awards celebrate the smart, strong and talented women working in Atlantic Canada's audiovisual industry. The list of winners is a remarkable group of accomplished women and I was truly honoured to be recognized among these names."

- Linda Wood, 2014 WAVE Award Recipient

  • 2019 - Teresa MacInnes, Juanita Peters and Ruth Lawrence 

  • 2018 - Janet Hawkwood, Rachel Bower and Terry Greenlaw

  • 2017 - Ann Bernier, Christine McLean, Donna Davies 

  • 2016 - Dominique Gusset, Annette Clarke, Lara Cassidy

  • 2015 - Catherine Martin, Renee Laprise and Marlene Cahill   

  • 2014 - Barbara Doran, Linda Wood, Noreen Golfman

  • 2013 - Lisa Rose Snow, Angie Kokic, and Louise Lalonde

  • 2012 - Jennice Ripley, Sylvia Hamilton, and Jan Miller

  • 2011 - Jean Smith, Ann Verrall, Cheryl Wagner, and Cat LeBlanc

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • White Twitter Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • iconmonstr-email-8-240