WIFT-AT 2019 Wave Award recipients announced to a full house Saturday night

2019 Wave Award recipients, Teresa Macinnes, Juanita Peters and Ruth Lawrence join Wave Award presenter and Spotlight conversation guest, Tamara Podemski, on stage following the Wave Award Celebratory Dinner at the Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Saturday night. (Claire Fraser photo)

Women in Film & Television Atlantic wrapped its hugely successful ninth annual Women Making Waves conference on Saturday night, (March 9) announcing the 2019 WAVE Awards recipients to a packed house.

The WAVE Awards, which honour outstanding contributions by women in film, television and digital/screen-based media in Atlantic Canada, were presented to Ruth Lawrence (Nflnd), Teresa MacInnes (N.S.) and Juanita Peters (N.S.).

The WAVE Awards were presented by multi-disciplinary artist, and WMW Spotlight Conversation guest, Tamara Podemski.

About the 2019 WAVE Award recipients:

Newfoundland’s Ruth Lawrence is the face of art activism, mobilization, and hope. 2018 was a banner year for her. The feature film Hopeless Romantic, on which she was a writer, premiered on the festival circuit to critical acclaim. She launched a program in partnership with the Nickel Independent Film Festival-The New Voices Project, which will create four short films written and directed by emerging diverse filmmakers living in her province. And she was awarded the Telefilm Talent to Watch Program to direct the feature film Little Orphans.

Nova Scotia’s Teresa MacInnes is one of Atlantic Canada's most inspiring documentary filmmakers. The films she has made over the three decades of her career, have tackled some of the most crucial social justice issues of our time, winning awards and screened around the world. Her documentary Buying Sex was named one of the top ten feminist films streaming on US Netflix. Her documentary, Mabel, won the prestigious 2017 Banff Rockie Award for best Social/Political Documentary.

Nova Scotia’s Juanita Peters is committed to changing the conversation in terms of diversity and gender equality. She is an award winning writer and director of multiple documentaries including Hannah’s Story, I Made A Vow and Africville Can’t Stop Now. Her career includes more than 15 years as a journalist and news anchor in the Maritimes and she has hosted four seasons of CBC’s documentary series Doc Side.

The Wave Award Selection Committee for 2019 included four women, one from each Atlantic province. They are, Susan MacDonald (P.E.I.), Katie FitzRandolph (N.B.), Tara Bradbury (NFLD) and Pauline Dakin (N.S.).

To learn more about the Wave Awards and how to nominate a deserving woman for a Wave Award next year, click HERE.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts